CSinPA Build, Fly, Code Ambassadors

Webinar

Session Dates

Thursday January 07, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday January 12, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday January 14, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday January 19, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday January 21, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday January 26, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday January 28, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday February 02, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday February 04, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday February 18, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday March 02, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday March 11, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Thursday March 25, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Thursday April 08, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Thursday April 15, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday April 20, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday April 29, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Thursday May 06, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Thursday May 13, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday May 18, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Thursday May 27, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Thursday June 03, 2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday June 15, 2021 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Sunday June 20, 2021 - 11:59 PM

Closed
This event is by invitation only. You must have a registration key in order to register.

CSinPA Build | Fly | Code participants build drones from the ground up, earn their pilot wings through the science of flight, and utilize block-based coding to manipulate the drone’s flight. Participants will develop their CS knowledge and skills, design and implement CS learning experiences with drones in their classes, and explore ways to expand CS opportunities. Participants are given access to drone class-packs, which allow for 1:1 student engagement. The included drones are compact, modular and can be built and taken apart for each teaching session.

Ambassadors serve as leaders of their CSinPA Build | Fly | Code LEA team and as peer mentors for all program participants. Drawing on their own efforts and experience, ambassadors offer insight, encouragement, and assistance.

Each part of the CSinPA Build | Fly | Code curriculum is multi-modal and can be taught through in-classroom instruction and remote/distance learning. The curriculum is also standards-aligned, universally designed and culturally relevant.


Objectives

At the end of this training participants will be able to:

  • Develop and identify STEM and CS instructional materials that are standards-aligned, universally designed and culturally relevant for in-person, hybrid, and/or distance learning environments
  • Recognize and create a plan to close equity gaps in CS education, specifically for students with disabilities and other historically underrepresented populations, such as students of color and female students
  • Articulate the need for CS education in our communities by describing real-life examples and applications
  • Demonstrate foundational CS content knowledge and skills

Target Audience

6th-9th grade educators teaching in a 2018-19 PAsmart Targeted Grant LEA

Topics Covered: STEM

Reasonable efforts will be made to accommodate individuals who have special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act and who need assistance at this event. Contact: Sadie Hetrick, at 717-901-2273, or shetrick@pattan.net.

Event Info

Event Type:

Webinar

Credit Type:

Act 48 Clock Hour
No credit

Presenters:

PaTTAN Educational Consultant, Tim Heffernan

Event Contact:

Registration:

Sadie Hetrick
shetrick@pattan.net
717-901-2273

Contact:

Best Practices Online
bestpracticesonline@pattan.net
717-901-2294