teacherstudent.jpgDevelopment of Essentialized Examples has been led by the PaTTAN in coordination with the Bureau of
Special Education. The development of Essentialized Examples has occurred in phases.
  • In 2016, Phase I of development was initiated. A team of teachers comprised of special educators and content experts developed the first set of Essentialized Examples.
  • In 2017, rubrics were developed and assessed for validity to ensure quality production of Essentialized Examples.
  • During the 2017-2018 school year, Phase II was initiated. PaTTAN held three, two-day regional trainings for special educators interested in learning the essentialization process and becoming a developer of Essentialized Examples. PaTTAN would like to recognize those educators who have provided their expertise and time to develop classroom resources aligned to the PA Core Standards and alternate eligible content.

Shaniea Adams, Harrisburg SD 
Rachel Boyer, Blairsville-Saltsburg SD 
Emily Buzzard, Achievement Charter School 
Alison Cox, Westmoreland IU 17 
Melissa Davis, Commonwealth Connections Academy CS 
Megan Davis-Hiles, Franklin ASD 
Levonia Dupree, Harrisburg SD 
Tom Esposito, Lancaster-Lebanon IU 13 
Danyelle Frye, Pittsburgh Public SD 
Barbara Giavedoni, Punxsutawney SD 
Jared Gleim, Central Dauphin SD 
Sarah Gleim, Central Dauphin SD 
Jennifer Haste, Susquehanna Township SD 
Elizabeth Johnson, Chester-Upland SD 
Heather Kaboly, Westmoreland IU 7 
Denise Long, Harrisburg SD 
Sherri Markiw, Achievement Charter School 
Kathryn McDonald, Susquehanna Township SD 
Melissa McMichael, Penn Manor SD 
Mary Anne O’Connell, Overbrook School for the Blind 
Michelle Price, Harrisburg SD 
Gary Pyfer, Cumberland Valley SD 
Tiffany Schmidt, Canon-McMillan SD 
Edith Tanner, Williams Valley SD 
Karen Whitaker, Overbrook School for the Blind 
Karen Wolf, Central Dauphin SD 
Tyra Wynn, Philadelphia SD 
Mary Lynn Yancich, Trinity ASD 

Heather Morgan, Wordsworth Academy 
Paula Conrad, West Shore School District 
Megan Lieberwirth, Eastern Lancaster County School District 
Wendy Warfield-Fuchs, Bucks County Intermediate Unit 
Katie Majewski, Western PA School for Blind Children 
Lesley Herman, Neshannock Township School District 
Rachel Boyer, Blairsville-Saltsburg School District 

Rachel Boyer: Blairsville-Saltsburg SD
Paula Conrad: West Shore SD
Camille Dean: Owen J. Roberts SD
Kelly Deems: Keystone Central SD
Lesley Herman: Neshannock Township SD
Jessica Hull: Chester County IU
Kathryn Majewski: Western PA School for the Blind
Amy Mattioli: Lower Moreland Township SD
Stacy Miller: Greater Latrobe SD
Heather Morgan: Wordsworth Academy
Nicole Oakes: Clarion Limestone SD
Ashleigh Rissler: Governor Mifflin SD
Wendy Warfield-Fuchs: Bucks County IU 22
Christy Worhach: Danville Area SD
Megan Worley: Eastern Lebanon County School District